Watercolor Painting: St. Mary’s Convent, Freeport, PA

This painting is of a very old convent in my grandmother’s town that she had me paint for her church as it was to be torn down a few weeks after I painted it.  The brick work on this building was amazing and very detailed.  Because of the detail I had to paint each brick individually to capture the proper feel.  I also had to make sure to add in the bomb shelter sign, at my grandmother’s request (bottom left of building).  As far as the results go, this is one of my favorite house paintings, though I did not enjoy painting it nearly as much as some others– that’s a lot of bricks. :).

Leave a Reply

