A Boy and His Backhoe

Art, originally uploaded by Mrs. Shamus Young.

Issac playing in the sand around our fire pit, about 500 ft behind him was a real backhoe working, inspiring his play.  The backhoe he was playing with  was my brother’s and my dad’s before him.  I believe it was a gift my grandfather got when he bought a new full size backhoe (not the dinky ones we have today but one of the giant ones excavators used to use.)

This painting has a special place in my heart because it reminds me of my own childhood playing in the sand with my brother  as well as riding the backhoe while my dad was working for my grandfather.

One Response to “A Boy and His Backhoe”

  1. […] interesting. I’ve mentioned before that my wife is an artist of the painting variety. (Watercolor, mostly. Occasionally she dabbles in oil.) Her work is going to be used as a book cover, and the […]

Leave a Reply

